Waiting On Wednesday: Spellweaver

A weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine,
spotlighting upcoming releases that are eagerly anticipated.

(book two of Ruith's story)
Novel of the Nine Kingdoms, book five
Paperback, 368 pages
Coming January 4th 2011 from Berkley Publishing Group
ISBN 0425238636 (ISBN13: 9780425238639)

Ruith had long managed to ignore the magic in his veins, until aiding Sarah with her ill-fated quest forced him into places where his heritage was impossible to deny. Faced with an ever-increasing number of enemies who covet his power, Ruith must accept his birthright and gather his father’s spells together so he can destroy them—or turn away and allow his father’s evil to overcome the Nine Kingdoms.

Now, Ruith and Sarah must rely on each other more than ever—for everything they value is at risk: the Nine Kingdoms, their lives...and their hearts.

First began reading the novels of the Nine Kingdoms way back when I was reading strictly fantasy. Before I was corrupted by lusty shifters and sexy as hell men with guns and a need for vengeance.

Previously, in book one, per my review (spoilers):

Ruithneadh lives alone in the mountains outside the village, his magic forced deep down inside himself, locked and hidden away. After the destruction of his family by his own father's hands when he himself was just ten years old, Ruith wants nothing to do with magic or people.

Sarah is the magicless daughter of the village witch. She wants nothing more than to escape her home and run away to make her own simple, peaceful life. Then one day her brother steals away the last of her mother's potions and her entire savings. He then reveals that he is off to destroy the world.

Led by duty to do just the opposite, Sarah runs to Ruith for help, believing in the rumors that he is a centuries old mage more powerful than most out there. What she finds is a man much younger, cloaked in darkness, and who's so handsome she doesn't even recognize him when she finally sees his face.

As they journey together, collecting person after person whom her brother, Daniel, has stolen their powers from, they continue to hide their secrets from one another - all along building a bond and friendship with what truths are allowed. In the end of Tapestry of Spells, all lies come to the surface and as they flee, yet another foe takes them captive. Sarah is planned to be sold. Ruith is confined.

Other books in the series: (Linked to Goodreads)

The first three are set in the same world and tell the story of Ruith's sister, Morgan, but they have no other connection to Ruith and Sarah: (Linked to Amazon)

Star of the Morning (The Nine Kingdoms, Book 1)The Mage's Daughter: A Novel of the Nine KingdomsPrincess of the Sword (The Nine Kingdoms, Book 3)


Straylights said...

Ooh these all sound really good! I am definitely going to check these all out! Great pick!

Check out my WoW

Jenny said...

I love a good fantasy series and this one looks really great, I'll have to go back and look up the first book!

Crystal ♥ said...

Sound great, I'm going to have to check them out. Great pick!


jackie b central texas said...

I love the fact you are staying true to your love of fantasy, also love that you have allowed yourself to be "corrupted" by all the lusty shifters and sexy men with guns!! (seriously who can resist them?)

My Reading and WoW this week

jackie >_<

Redd said...

I just gave away one of her books on paperbackswap and posted another to trade. lol.

Ragan (Location 2571) said...

I saw that. Can't wait for this one!